VoV Web Desk

Suresh Raina announces retirement from all forms of cricket

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Suresh Raina, the former India batter, announced his retirement from all forms of cricket, on Tuesday. The 35-year-old batter last played in a T20 contest in October 2021, when Chennai Super Kings faced Rajasthan Royals. He hadn’t featured in a List A or a First-Class match since 2018.

Raina, who had retired from international cricket in 2020, wrote on Twitter, “It has been an absolute honour to represent my country & state UP. I would like to announce my retirement from all formats of Cricket. I would like to thank BCCI, UPCA (Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association), Chennai Super Kings, Rajiv Shukla sir and all my fans for their support and unwavering faith in my abilities.”

A product of the India Under-19 setup and a part of the 2004 world cup, Raina made his first-class debut in 2002-03 for Uttar Pradesh. He went on to play 109 first-class matches, scoring 6871 runs and picking 41 wickets. The southpaw gained more success in limited overs cricket. After making his List A debut – a format he played 302 games in, scoring 8078 runs and taking 64 wickets – in 2005 against Madhya Pradesh, he was fast-tracked into the national side.

However, it was in T20 cricket that he made the strongest impression, playing 336 matches, scoring 8654 runs and picking 54 wickets. One of the most successful batters in the Indian Premier League, Raina finished his career with 5528 runs – the fifth highest in the tournament’s history and been a part of CSK’s title victories in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. Raina was an integral figure of the CSK setup, being a part of the franchise every year, except 2020, from the start till 2021. In 2016 and 2017 when the franchise was banned from IPL, he led Gujarat Lions.

One of the finest fielders of his generation, Raina also took over 100 catches in each of these formats. A mentor and an inspirational figure to many in Uttar Pradesh, Raina also led the state team to victory in the 2016-17 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *