VoV Web Desk

DCC Poonch holds protest against fuel price hike

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Youth Congress today protested against incessant fuel price hike across the country, urging Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government to rollback the prices.
The protest was organised by Youth Congress District President Idrees Gani and AYC President Fiaz .
According to statement issued to KNS reads, Led by Uday Bhanu Chib, President J&K PYC, the Youth Congress activsts assembled at Bus stand poonch and raised slogans against the BJP Government over the rising fuel prices across the country.
Talking to reporters here, Uday Chib lamented that petrol and diesel prices are being increased daily when the entire country is hit by Covid-19 pandemic, and people are in crisis due to the lockdown. He said that the Central Government is looting the people by hiking the excise duty on petrol and diesel.
Chib said that the anti-people policies of the BJP Government are responsible for the high prices of petrol, diesel and LPG despite crude oil consistently remaining down to less than 50 per cent for the last six years. “International crude oil prices are the lowest in the last 15 years, yet petrol and diesel prices are skyrocketing, while the common people, the middle class, the farmers, the transporters and small and medium businesses are bearing the pain of high oil rates,” Chib rued.
Uday Chib accused the government of picking pockets of the common man and also taking away their livelihood.
Terming the hike in petrol and diesel price ‘historic’, Youth Congress activists termed the steepest fuel price hike will have cascading effects on other essential commodities effecting people already suffering from the exhaustive policies of the NDA Government.
Ajaz Choudhary vice President Jkpyc appealed to the Prime Minister for immediate roll back of hike in petrol and diesel prices. He also Raised the local issues like daily power cuts in poonch district , croos border firing and others.

Among others who joined the protest included Jkpyc secretary Sikandar hayat, Idress Gani dyc President, Zaffar Iqbal, Amanat Ali, Sarfraz Ahmad and Ajaz Chowan , District General secretaries, AYC Presidents Asif Bajjar, Sajid Rashid and Fayiz Dewan AYC Vice Presidents Majid Ahmed and Adnan Ahmed. (KNS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *