VoV Web Desk


Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

After a long spell of silence National Conference has finally decided to chalk out a strategy to remain politically relevant in Kashmir. In this direction recently National Conference rejected the Delimitation Commission announced by the Centre.

National Conference had to decide whether its sitting three MP’s from Kashmir including Dr. Farooq Abdullah would be the part of the commission or not. Earlier Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla had nominated for the delimitation commission five sitting MP’s from UT of Jammu and Kashmir including Union Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh.

In a statement, the NC, led by former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah said: “With reference to the recently announced Delimitation Commission announced by the Government of India, Jammu & Kashmir National Conference today rejects this process and its three members of Parliament will not participate in the said commission.”

The party added: “This delimitation commission is a product of the J&K Re-organization Act 2019, which the JKNC is challenging in and outside the Supreme Court. Participating in this delimitation Commission will be tantamount to accepting the events of 5th August 2019, which the NC is unwilling to do.”

“According to the Constitution of J&K, the constituencies of J&K were to be delimited in 2026 with the rest of the country. The constituencies in the State were last delimited in the ’90s. Thereafter, an amendment was made in the constitution of J&K unanimously passed in the State Assembly in which all the regional parties, Congress and BJP voted for this amendment to go with the delimitation with rest of the country in 2026.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *