VoV Web Desk

J&K Bank conducts camps under Gram Swaraj Abhiyan

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar,: As part of the special initiative “Gram Swaraj Abhiyan” launched across the country on April 14, 2018, J&K Bank conducted the campaign through various camps wherein a large gathering of people comprising of men, women and youth participated.
Today, Deputy Secretary, DFS, Ministry of Finance A. K. Dogra visited one such campaign organised at a village Darab in Kishtwar District of Jammu in presence of the bank’s Vice-President J&K SLBC Rakesh Gandotra, Zonal Head Jammu (West) Khurshid Fazili, Cluster Head, Lead District Manager, District Panchayat Officer and all other officers of the line departments.
Speaking at the campaign, he said, “State and Centrally sponsored schemes and programmes are being run in the village for the benefit of general public.”
On the occasion, he directed the concerned that the village should achieve 100% target in terms of opening accounts under Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana (PMJDY), enrolment under Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bhima Yojana (PMJJBY) and Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bhima Yojana (PMSBY).
The campaign will continue till May 5, 2018 and is aimed to promote social harmony, reach out to poor rural households, spreading awareness about government welfare schemes, enhance livelihood opportunities and re-emphasize national priorities including cleanliness and strengthening of Panchayati Raj institutions.
As a special initiative during the Gram Swaraj Abhiyan, universal coverage under seven welfare programmes viz .Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Sahaj Bijli HarGhar Yojana, Ujala Scheme, Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bhima Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bhima Yojana and Mission Indradhanush in 16,850 identified villages with large number of underprivileged households across the country has been given highest importance to provide these villages with the benefits of these seven welfare programmes.
Meanwhile, in J&K State, 124 villages have been identified by DFS in 9 districts viz. Rajouri (8), Kathua (19), Doda (2), Ramban (1), Kishtwar (1), Udhampur (19), Reasi (3), Jammu (58) and Samba (13) to provide the universal coverage under PMJDY, PMJJBY and PMSBY.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *