VoV Web Desk

BJP ends 25-yr Left rule in Tripura; to form govt in Nagaland with NDPP

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

March 03, 2018

The Bharatiya Janata Party and its ally surged ahead of the Left Front in Tripura establishing a lead in 40 seats, while the Congress was ahead in Meghalaya, according to Election Commission sources.

In Nagaland, the ruling Naga People’s Front was ahead in 16 constituencies.

The BJP and its ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party were also leading in 21 seats.

 Election in 59 seats for Tripura’s 60-member assembly was held on February 18.

Polling was countermanded in one seat due to death of a Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate.

The BJP was leading in 32 seats while its ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura was ahead in eight seats.

The ruling CPI-M, which is power for the last 25 years, was ahead in 19 seats, according to the trends available.

BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb and party MLA Sudip Roy Burman were leading in their respective seats of Banamlipur and Agartala.

The BJP credited the favourable results in Tripura to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the desire of people of the state for change.

“The prime minister had addressed four rallies in Tripura. He had worked very hard and continuously monitored our campaigning. The credit must go to him,” BJP general secretary Ram Madhav said at a press conference Agartala.

He said people of Tripura have also positively responded to the BJP’s call for defeating the CPI-M-led government.

“People responded very well to our call ‘Chalo Paltai’ (Let’s Change),” he said.

The BJP leader also praised the CPI-M for its ‘spirited fight’ during the election and said but the people wanted a new government.

Madhav also said in Nagaland, the BJP and its alliance partner NDPP have been performing well as per the initial trends.

“We hope to form a government with our pre-poll ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party,” he said.

Meghalaya, Madhav said, is heading for a hung Assembly and the BJP will work for forming a non-Congress government there.

He said the BJP Parliamentary Board will meet on Saturday evening to decide on the future Chief Minister of Tripura.

“Our Parliamentary Board (the party’s highest decision making body) will meet in the evening and take a call,” he said.

According to trends of 58 constituencies available in Meghalaya, the ruling Congress won two seats and was leading in 19 followed by the National People’s Party (NPP) in 17, which also won one seat.

Chief Minister Mukul Sangma registered wins from both Songsak and Ampati constituencies.

While the United Democratic Party won two and was leading in four, the People’s Democratic Front was leading in three seats. The BJP was leading in three constituencies.

The Hill State People’s Democratic Party won one and was leading in one seat while Independents won two and were ahead in two seats.

The Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement won one seat.

Polling for 59 seats of the 60-member assembly was held on February 27.(Agencies)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *