VoV Web Desk

PHF announces squad for 2018 Hockey World Cup

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

LAHORE: The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has announced an 18-member team for the World Cup, going to be held in Bhubaneswar, India later this year.

The PHF announced the squad on its official Twitter account.

View image on Twitter

Hockey world cup, which is scheduled to be held between 28 November to 16 December, will feature 16 teams including the host country India.

Mohammad Rizwan Senior and Ammad Shakeel are appointed as captain and vice-captain respectively.

Green side is comprised of Imran Butt (goalkeeper), Mazhar Abbas (goalkeeper), M Irfan Senior, Aleem Bilal, Mubashar Ali, M Tauseeq Arshad, Tasawwar Abbas, Rashid Mahmood, Ajaz Ahmed, Ammad Shakeel Butt (vice-captain), M Irfan Jr, M Rizwan Senior (captain), Ali Shan, Faisal Qadir, Abubakr Mahmood, Umar Bhutta, M Atiq Arshad and Mohammad Zubair.

Hasan Sardar and Tauqeer Dar will be serving as team manager and head coach respectively.

Pakistan has won the biggest hockey event four times in 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994, more than any other side.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *